What Christmas Is About

Merry Christmas! We had each author write a piece about what Christmas is about!

Hope for the future

Cinnamon wafts through the air.
Snow drifts to the ground outside.
It’s Christmas. The time associated with happiness, laughter, and love. I sit in the living room. My
computer is in my lap, and a mug of hot-chocolate rests in my hand. Music is playing from a speaker
behind me.
“Chestnuts roasting on an open fire. Jack Frost nipping at your nose…”
I review a document I made this morning. Pictures of my friends fill the screen in front of me.
Smiling to myself, I begin to write a poem on the document. Soon, the pictures and poetry will be
printed and wrapped as Christmas gifts for my friends. I have it all planned out. I will write a poem about
my favorite thing at Christmas time. The problem is, I have to figure out what that is.
Snow and winter?
Music and hot-chocolate?
Presents and Christmas trees?
After a few moments of thinking, I realize what my favorite thing about Christmas is. Hope. After
all, Christmas is all about hope.
The meaning of Christmas begins with hope. As does the middle, and someday, the end. The
whole story is about hope for us.
Christ was born into the world in a manger, one of the lowliest births imaginable. When he was
born, he became human, yet didn’t lose his deity. He was fully God and fully man.
When he grew up, Jesus died a painful death on the cross for our salvation. In three days, he
rose again from death.
I smile. I hear this story of Jesus’ birth every year numerous times. Yet, it still is the wonderful
truth. Jesus was born and died for me. No matter what I do, who I hurt, what I say, I have hope for my
future. After all, Jesus died for the world. Thus, who ever believes in him shall not perish, but live with
him in heaven forever.
-Glory Marilyn
The passages on Jesus’ birth can be found in Mathew 1 and 2, and Luke 1 and 2.
John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son, that whoever believes in
him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

My Favorite Thing About Christmas

At this time of year, I see people all around me rushing about doing their last-minute shopping, drinking hot chocolate out of Starbucks cups, humming the latest Christmas song, carefully wrapping presents for loved ones, all the while smiling and wishing friends, family, and strangers a “Merry Christmas.”
As I watch all these happy people, I wonder, What is it that makes them so happy? Is it the music? Is it the family quality time? The Hallmark movies? The presents?
Is it really true happiness?
Does getting beautifully wrapped presents make us satisfied? Three-minute long Christmas songs? A Venti Starbucks drink?  None of these things will satisfy us, no matter how pleasant at the time. That Starbucks drink is NOT going to last very long at all. (Especially if you’re me!)
But the present that the entire world has received is everlasting! God wrapped up His baby Son, Jesus, in a swaddling cloth, and gave Him to us all! This gift, the best gift, is just waiting for you to open it and accept Him! This is true happiness. This is joy!
When you wake up, or your kids wake you up at 4am, on Christmas day remember, as everyone rushes about to unwrap all the gifts, stop and thank Jesus for His sacrifice and present to you.
This isn’t just a Christmas present, it’s a year-round present! Celebrate it every day and spend time with Him.
That is my favorite thing about Christmas.
Keep Christ in Christmas.
-Riley Parker

What Christmas Is Truly About

Kids are the center of the holidays. They are always the most excited for it. But when you ask them what Christmas is about, they never give the true answer. Usually they say with total confidence, “Presents!”
But it doesn’t end there. If you ask an adult they will usually respond, “Family.”
But neither of these answers are correct. The true answer is that Christmas is about redemption. The redemption of the world. We celebrate Christmas to celebrate Christ’s birth, and ultimately, his death and resurrection. Christ came to the world to save us from our sin. Because of Christ’s death, we don’t need to be scared of God’s judgement. Because if we accept Christ into our life, we are saved from condemnation.
So next time you’re asked what Christmas is about, answer, “Christ’s birth and my salvation.”
-Rosemary Grace

Thanks so much for reading! Merry Christmas!

-The Homeschool Journal Team

Leave a comment